Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Consolidated Guide to Modding with Unity

Consolidated Guide to Modding 7D2D with Unity

First off, a disclaimer. I started modding and using Unity 2 years ago when A16 was the current build, so I am not a Unity Pro. I have no formal training in using it, so the way I do things may well seem ugly to some folks more versed than I, but I can claim that the things I make in Unity work well. Hopefully after these tutorials yours will too, and eventually you can teach others a better way of doing things.
    What you need to get started

1. Install the Version of Unity that matches the version of the game you want to mod. For A18.4, you need Unity 2019.1.x , but that will change for A19 and beyond. How do you know which version to download? The game creates log files (Player.log and Output_Log that has a line near the top like this: Initialize engine version: 2019.1.0f2 (292b93d75a2c). This is A18.4, and you see it it built with Unity 2019.1 You can find all the versions of unity for the current and all previous alphas at https://unity3d.com/get-unity/download/archive I use the latest version of 2019.1 which is 2019.1.14

2. Download the tutorial Unity project from my repo at https://github.com/7D2D/Templates-and-Utilities
    For A18.4 the current template is called: TutorialProjectTemplate2019.1.zip Start up your copy of Unity 2019.1.x and load that tutorial project. It is preconfigured for success, including the TagManager used by TFP and the MultiPlatformExport script.
    Are you a visual learner?

Some of the links go to separate posts with more details on the video series, other link directly to the videos. If you have questions, feel free to ask. We do expect that you watch all the relevant videos and understand the basics shown in them before asking questions. The best way to learn is to try to do it yourself first, then if your stuck we are here to help.